Write What You Know


Just the other night, my wife asked me if I’d ever considered writing a book on what it’s like to raise an Autistic daughter.  My initial response was I’m not good at writing about real life.  I’m more likely to have my interactions with Natalie influence a character’s development than to write a story based on her.  Thomas, the main character in an upcoming book, The Shadow Walker, is loosely based on my observations of Autistic young adults, but it’s not the thrust of the story.  Instead, it has to do with shadow creatures he observes and his obsession with figuring out what they are.

My mind just doesn’t work well with the real, the tangible.  The one time I tried to write a story based on my life, I ended up splitting myself into three different characters in order to explain the triplicity (?) of my personality.  I’ve considered writing a book based on being a para-transit driver, but for some reason, the main character is a woman struggling with her sexuality who falls in love with a dying client.  Yeah, that’s so not based on my life.

The truth of it is, I prefer to make up worlds rather than dwell in this one.  I’ve seen plenty of people comment they can’t stand Sci-Fi or Fantasy because it’s all made up, but that’s exactly the reason I love it.  I get enough of the real world by, well, living in it.  That’s not to say I don’t appreciate other genres.  I read all sorts of books/watch all kinds of movies.  I’m a sucker for a good Rom Com (I know a lot of people would argue that’s a contradiction of terms).  I like period pieces, horror, mysteries, humor, pretty much anything I can find entertainment in.  But when it comes to my own personal writing, I have a hard time keeping it real world.  I highly respect those who can write about their lives or someone else’s and keep it engaging, but that’s not me.  If I’m going to live and breathe and eat my stories, I find the monsters in my head much better company than those on display all day, every day, thanks to the 24-hour news station.  No matter how weird, depraved, odd or messed up my mind can be, it’s got nothing on real life.

As a side note, Ascension is 50% off for the next two days on Smashwords. https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/71161.  And in exciting news (well, to me, anyway), barring any unforeseen difficulties, I should have my second book, The Four-Year-Old Guardian, available for purchase this weekend.  So expect me to start pimping it out here soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

