NaNoWriMo Fo Sho


Just a quick note saying I won’t be blogging much this month because I’m participating in NaNoWriMo.  What’s that, you ask?  Well, it stands for National Novel Writing Month (http://www.nanowrimo.org/) and it’s a contest of sorts to see if you’re capable of writing a 50,000 word rough draft of a previously unworked on book.  I’ve tried the past two years (and failed spectacularly, I might add).  There’s no real consequence for losing, just as there’s no true reward for winning, aside from the knowledge you just drove yourself mad for the past 30 days.  My first attempt, I got a good start on a book that, unfortunately, didn’t head in a direction I was all that pleased with.  Last year’s book, The Shadow Walker, wasn’t finished in a month, but I got a good start at it.  Co-incidentally (or not), the book was finished and up for sale at the end of last month (here: http://www.amazon.com/Shadow-Walker-Unseen-Things-ebook/dp/B0060MG0YC/ref=sr_1_11?ie=UTF8&qid=1320353892&sr=8-11 and here: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/99137 ).

I planned to finish writing Unseen Things 2 by Oct 31st and start the third book for NaNo, but I failed.  I was still determined to work on the third book, but at the last minute, I decided to work on a completely different story.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have anything mapped out and didn’t even know the names of the characters.  Still, I started writing, making it up as I went along, and as of this moment (11/3/11 1414:04), I’m roughly 3,000 words in.  I’m falling well short of where I should be at this point, but it’s a good start.  And just the act of writing it has gotten my creative juices flowing and the ideas are coming fast and furious now.

I love starting a new book.

Unfortunately, it means I’m putting everything else aside for the month.  My next book due out, Bravado/Dramatique (the sequel to The Four-Year-Old Guardian), has been pushed out most likely to the end of the year (look for it before Christmas, time willing).  I probably won’t be finished writing Unseen Things 2 until the end of the year and I know that book will have extensive rewrites needed before it’s ready for release.  Hopefully, I’ll have the entire trilogy out by Halloween next year.

But if all goes well with NaNo, I might also have an unexpected book ready to go sometime in 2012.  Or it could come out as complete rubbish and a waste of time.  That’s the beauty of NaNo.  It’s a spontaneous burst of words and thoughts that transcends a writer’s habit to over think or over plan.  It’s rough and raw and I highly recommend it to anybody looking to get a story out of their head.  It may not come out ready to go, but you could end up with an excellent rough draft.

And now I’ve spent 473 words explaining it when I could have been working on the story. 🙂

 

 

One thought on “NaNoWriMo Fo Sho

  1. You could always drop the above entry in the middle of your NaNo, then have your characters look at each other and say, “Wow, that was random! Where did that otherworldly voice come from?” *grin*

    Good luck – I’m just about to hit 5,100 even though my MC is being boring as all get out.

Leave a Reply

