Back to the Story


Some time back in October, I posted a blog about my upcoming foray into NaNoWriMo and wrote about my push to get The Shadow Walker published before Halloween.

Then I vanished.

Okay, I put up another blog about the Kindle Fire we bought for our daughter, but I’ve been pretty tight-lipped about what’s going on in the world of my writing.  And so, for those of you (yes, you, singular; you know who you are) who have been wondering, “Hey, what’s up with that Steve guy?”, I’ve decided it’s time for a new blog post.

First off, my NaNo book came along rather nicely…at first.  I got about 8,000 words in and I started getting cold feet.  I was happy about the way it was coming along, especially considering I was winging it, big time.  At 8,000 words, I had gotten a taste of the world, some motivations for the characters and glimpses of where the story was heading.  I also developed a nagging feeling I was neglecting my other stories.

Every week, I attend a critique group and currently I’m working on Bravado/Dramatique, the sequel to The Four-Year-Old Guardian.  As nice as it was to spend some time in a new world with new characters, I was starting to hit my stride with Bravado/Dramatique.  I wrote the book four years ago and I missed working on it.  That, in conjunction with the fact I had initially thought I’d be done with the book by the end of the year (but I’m still only half-way through the rough draft), and I decided I was better off focusing on books I actually planned to put out.

So, after proudly boasting about taking part in NaNo this year, I opted out early.  Do I regret my decision to stop?  Not at all.  Will I take part in it again next year?  Absolutely.

With my NaNo book out of the way and me refocused on Bravado/Dramatique, I decided it was time to expand my title availability.  Fortunately, at that time, Createspace made uploading your books even easier.  After spending some time formatting Ascension, I submitted it and now wait for my proof copy in the mail.  If all goes well, Ascension will be available for print early next year and my other two books will be short behind.

The marketing side of things took a nosedive during this time.  In fact, The Shadow Walker debuted with…let’s say less than stellar sales.  In fact, I could barely give them away.  Things turned around recently when I signed up for Kindle Select.  It gave me the option of making my books free for five days.  The response was more than I could have expected.  I also put Ascension and The Four-Year-Old Guardian for sale last weekend and the number of downloads exceeded my wildest hopes.  Further, I’ve been able to make some sales even after the free giveaway ended, which is tremendous seeing as how my sales had grown stagnant over the past few months.

Moving into the end of the year and into the new year, I’m not quite in the position I hoped to be.  I wanted to have Bravado/Dramatique ready to go and even dared to dream The Shadow Within (Unseen Things 2) might be ready.  But considering I’ve only been at this for six months, I’m proud of what I’ve accomplished.  After twenty some-odd years of writing for fun (and free), I have three books out I’m proud of and I’m in the process of producing them in paperback.  At the same time, I have two books in the works I hope to have ready come Spring 2012.

Thanks to everyone who has given my books a chance and for reading this rambling group of words I call a blog.

Leave a Reply

