I…Still…Function


Just wanted my faithful reader(s?) to know I haven’t forgotten you.  And I haven’t been sitting on my laurels, playing videogames all the time (okay, maybe I’ve spent a little time on my PS3.  Curse you Skyrim!).

A few weeks back, I finally finished my edit on Ascension and made it available in print through Createspace (https://www.createspace.com/3662870  for the Createspace store or http://www.amazon.com/Ascension-S-L-Madden/dp/146803037X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1337724282&sr=8-1 through Amazon).  This alone has fulfilled my lifelong dream of putting my works in print.  As nice as e-readers are, most people can agree there’s something special associated with holding a physical copy of a book.  When it’s one you put together yourself after years of blood (paper cuts), sweat (I really need to work out more if typing is making me pit out) and tears (well…that one’s self-explanatory), it makes it all the more special.

I currently have proof copies of The Four-Year-Old Guardian and The Shadow Walker in my possession.  I’ve started going over The Shadow Walker and marking up changes and I’m about 29% through with it.  I haven’t yet started FYOG, but I think it’ll go fairly smooth.

I’m finished with the rough draft of the sequel to FYOG, Bravado/Dramatique and I’m currently 8% done with the rewrite (not far, I know).  And I’m working on the rough draft for the third book, Together Alone, and I’m currently done with 17% of that book.

Next month marks my one year anniversary for publishing my first book, Ascension.  Between June and October of last year, I put out three books.  I haven’t produced a single book since then.  My solemn pledge before all who’ve read this far is I will have The Four-Year-Old Guardian and The Shadow Walker available in paperback form by the end of next month.  At the same time, Bravado/Dramatique will be available in e-form, with a paperback form shortly following.  I’ve spent most of these seven months since my last book working on editing and formatting, especialy for the paperback version.  I’m much better prepared this year than I was last year.

Once Bravado/Dramatique is out the gate, I plan to have Together Alone available in the fall.  I’m going to take a month off in November to do NaNoWriMo (maybe this year, I’ll finish up the Unseen Things trilogy I started a few years back with The Shadow Walker).  If I can complete Unseen Things III to my satisfaction (the rough draft for number II is nearly done), I’ll make both books available by holidays of this year, or possibly spring next year.

Sorry this has taken so long.  I suppose the good thing about not having a big fan base is there aren’t many to disappoint.  For those of you who are looking forward to more books, I assure you, they’re on the way.  Send me a line at travellerzero@gmail.com or leave a comment.  It might just be what I need to push through and meet my self-inflicted deadlines (and compel me to set down the controller when I know I should be editing instead).

Thanks for you support,

S.L. Madden

Leave a Reply

