The Return


My apologies to anyone who’s been anxiously awaiting my next post (there has to be at least one of you out there, right?).  I was on…let’s call it an externally reinforced sabbatical.  Or, to put it more simply, my wife told me to take a few weeks off.  I’m not trying to throw her under the bus.  It was actually a good thing.  I’d burnt myself out by spending nearly all my free time focused on edits and trying to get my books out in paperback format.  Once that was done, she requested in a way only a wife can do that I relax.  How could I say no?

But that’s behind me now and it’s back to work.  At this time, I’m 45% done with my rough draft for Together Alone and I’ve started working on cobbling together the rough version of The Shadow Within.  My goal is to have it finished by November and then use NaNoWriMo as an excuse to tear through World of Shadows, the third and final book in the series.  Because of the way they fit together, I’m going to try to release both books fairly close to one another.  At the same time, quality is important to me, so it remains to be seen what I’ll be able to produce in that time.

Once the Unseen Things trilogy is out of the way, I can move onto finishing up the Only Human on the Block series.  The fourth book, The Blood Contract, was never completed back in the day.  I had maybe half a dozen chapters left (if that) when I stopped writing it three years ago.  fortunately, I know exactly where it’s headed, so it should be fairly easy going…once I find the notebook.

Back in the day, I hand wrote my stories while on break at work and as I typed them into Word, I edited them.  Unfortunately, since the move, I have yet to locate that fourth book.  I have faith it’s here somewhere, but I have to confess I won’t feel at ease until it’s located.  At this point, I have several months to find it, so I’ll keep looking and hope it shows up.  Otherwise, the fourth book may take a wee bit longer to write than I was anticipating.

So that’s my outlook as of now.  Together Alone is coming along nicely (but painfully slow) and I still hope to have it out by year’s end, and the 2nd and 3rd Unseen Things should be out next year.

S.L. Madden

Leave a Reply

