Doubling Up


It’s now September.

This realization slapped my brain around like a schoolyard bully this morning and I started doing the math.  If I want to get Together Alone out this year *and* work on World of Shadows (Unseen Things III) for NaNoWriMo in November–not to mention finish The Shadow Within Before November–something had to give.  And that something is my free time.

I generally do my typing on my lunch break at work, but that won’t be enough to meet my self-imposed deadlines.  In fact, for the next few weeks, I won’t even have a lunch break (I’m working a different schedule than I usually do).  And if I fail to finish those last few chapters of my rough draft of Unseen Things II, it’ll make it that much harder to start on book three.  And if I miss it for November, I might just put it off for another year.

Unacceptable.

So, I decided I’m going to double up.  At lunch, I’ll work on Together Alone.  At this point, I’m still about 48% done with the rough draft (this past week was a nightmare for time management at work).  At home in the mornings, I’ll work on The Shadow Within.  I’ve started the first chapter, but it’s taking a little extra time because I veered from the original opening.  Hopefully the payoff is worth it.  Once I get into chapter two, it should go much quicker, as I recall being pretty pleased with the rough handwritten draft.

And that’s where I’m at.  Working on The Shadow Within should get me in the mood for World of Shadows.  And Together Alone is coming along slowly but surely.  I’ll double up on my efforts on that front at work, especially now that my new diet isn’t very conducive to dining out.

That’s the state of things for now.  I feel good about this direction moving into 2013.  Now I just need to find the notebook for Only Human on the Block IV: The Blood Contract…and figure out why I can’t get mobipocket creator (the software to make eBooks for Amazon) to work on my new computer…and decide on covers…and beg for reviews….

My work is never done.  And I wouldn’t have it any other way.

As ever, thanks for your support.

S.L. Madden

Leave a Reply

