Excerpt Experts


Recently, I’ve been contemplating various ways in which I can market myself (well, technically, it’s my books I’m looking to market, but they’re such an intrinsic part of the way my mind works, it’s pretty much the same thing).  I’ve been exploring how to create book trailers, contacting various reviewers and entertaining the idea of doing some giveaways.  A slight remodel of my blog (yes, this lovely piece of internet real estate) is also under consideration.

My wife suggested adding videos, an idea I’m 100% behind once I find a suitable actor to sit in and pretend to be me.  Another recommendation, after peeking at other author sites, was to add excerpts from my books.

So, the question I’m posing is this: for those of you who have read any of my books, are there any scenes that jump out at you that might be particularly effective as an excerpt?  The scenes should be something that gives potential readers a good taste of the writing without spoiling much of the plot.  For instance, the scene in Ascension where Rex interacts with Kharma’s mother, Lydia.  As the author, it stands out to me as a turning point for the story, but one that works without having a lot of background to what’s going on.

Well, that’s my pick for Ascension, and I could very well pick for the rest of the books.  After all, I know them better than anybody.  But that’s part of the problem.  It’s like asking a parent which one of their kids is their favorite.  As an outsider, it’s obvious (Little Jimmy FTW!), but it’s hard to be objective when they’re a part of your genetic makeup.

These books are a part of me, so I may not be the best judge.  If you have any scenes you’d like to recommend, email me at travellerzero@gmail.com or leave a comment here.  And, if after I post some excerpts, you happen to disagree with the choices, let me know.  Self-publishing is very time demanding, but it has many perks, not the least of which is the amount of control I have over things.  I set my own release schedules, manage my own site and choose my path forward.  All I’m saying is, if you’re interested in giving me a nudge one way or another, I’d love to hear your opinion.

As always, thanks for supporting indie authors.

S.L. Madden

Leave a Reply

