Under Construction


Just a quick post to point out the obvious: my blog has undergone a bit of a makeover.

Although the previous theme was fitting (if not a bit on-the-nose, given its paper motif), there are aspects of this new theme I really enjoy.  First and foremost, it has tabs for the various categories I write under.  This was especially appealing, because I want this blog to be my catch-all.  True, I blog primarily about my books, but I occasionally write about Autism or publish a review.  I’ve been considering adding a category where I talk about music that inspires me and giving each of my books their own page.

I still have some remodeling to do, but I’m quite happy with the look of it.  Hopefully, you’ll find it easy on the eyes (I love all that green) and a cinch to navigate.

If you have any questions/concerns, let me know.  I’m always open to improvements.

S.L. Madden

4 thoughts on “Under Construction

  1. Steve:
    I really like the new layout. It is a little bit easier to navigate than the previous one (Well, in my opinion at least). I noticed that under the section “Follow Blog via Email” it says “Join 181 other followers.” I’m a little concerned that you are now a cult leader? I’m tempted to join, although I follow your feed through goodreads already… do you offer kool-aid?

    • I’m glad you enjoy the update. The primary thought in my head while checking out new themes was WWAL? (Any ideas what that means?)

      And to answer your question, no Kool-Aid. For one, I’m too cheap to buy name brand (instead, I’d serve Orange Drank) and two, if I ever got my own complex, I wouldn’t want the Kool-Aid man to come busting through a wall and setting my followers free. Oh yeah!?! I think not, my rotund, sugar-water filled nemesis.

      • I was reading your most recent post, The Unlikely Preposition (which by the way, just realized was preposition as in the word usually before a noun, not proposition as in the terms or offer for a transaction, although on a side note, I’m sure you knew this, you are a writer, anyways I digress). I noticed while reading your most recent post that underneath the follow blog via email section it now says Join 177 others instead of 181. I wonder if the Orange Drank over Kool-Aid choice had anything to do with this? That slithery sugar-water nemesis of yours must have lured them away with his empty promises of sugar filled deliciousness.

  2. First off, I commend you for actually reading any of the stuff I post. You may just be the only one. Speaking of which, the 177 (who once numbered in the 180’s) others includes people who follow me on Twitter. I’m not 100% sure if that’s the case, but I can say with some certainty I don’t have that many people actively following my blog. Someday, perhaps, but that would mean putting some effort into making it more appealing and…meh.

Leave a Reply

