Spooky Savings


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In celebration of what is arguably the most fun holiday for grown-ups (perhaps Valentine’s Day runs a close second?), I’ve decided to lower the prices of three of my books for a limited time. From now through…I’m not sure, both The Four-Year-Old Guardian and Bravado/Dramatique are $.99 at Smashwords, down from the usual price of $2.99.  No coupon required.

If you’re not familiar with the series, it has demons, swordplay, magic, love and high school…not necessarily in that order.  It was written for the YA market, but I’ve gotten a lot of positive feedback from people young and old (not that I’m calling any of my fans old…*ahem*).

These two books are the first in the Only Human on the Block series, which is planned for a five-book run (and a trilogy off-shoot).  I’m currently working on the rough (read: typewritten) draft of the third book, Together Alone.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

But I’m not content merely offering those two books for $.99.  I also have The Shadow Walker, the first book of the Unseen Things trilogy, available at Smashwords for the low, low price of nothing.  That’s right, for a limited time, I’m offering this book for free!

But why, Steve, you might be asking yourself (which strikes me odd you’d call yourself Steve, unless that’s actually your name).  The answer is simple: I love this book and feel not enough people have been exposed to it.  I pushed hard to get it done and out to the public by last Halloween, then I sort of fell off the face of the earth.  I barely blogged and did very little marketing for it.  As a result, I think sales suffered a bit.

It’s a pity, because I’m really quite proud of the story.  It remains the one book of mine my wife has read (and, I should add, liked…so yay!).  Although I targeted it toward the same YA crowd that might enjoy the Only Human on the Block books, The Shadow Walker is quite a bit darker than that series.  It’s not overly explicit in any way, but there are certainly some scenes that I believe will stay with the reader.  I hesitate to call it horror, but it comes closer than anything else I’ve written.

I’m currently working on the follow-up, The Shadow Within (just passed the 40k mark this afternoon), and I plan to finish the rough draft by the end of the month so I can launch into the third and final book, World of Shadows.  Having spent the last month pouring over my rough draft of The Shadow Within, I’m nervous and excited for the direction the series is taking and can’t wait to get it into your hands to see what you all think.

But it all starts with The Shadow Walker.  If you haven’t had a chance to pick it up, now’s the perfect time. I can’t honestly say I’ll ever offer it for less than free.

As always, thanks for the support.

S.L. Madden

Leave a Reply

