An Unlikely Preposition


With NaNoWriMo less than two weeks away, the pressure is on. As I’ve noted in previous posts, this year I decided to resurrect my plan from last year, which was to complete the sequel to The Shadow Walker (free for a limited time! *end plug*), entitled The Shadow Within.  I went into this with a mostly complete rough draft of 131 handwritten pages (I still had an estimated 4-6 chapters when I stopped working on it).  I’ve spent the last month or so waking up early (*almost* every morning) and spending every lunch (again *almost* every lunch) working on typing it up.  I haven’t spent too much time polishing it up, although there have been a few spots I chose to elaborate greatly from my original draft.

And after spending all this time and energy essentially copying from one source to another, how far have I gotten?  As of today, I am on page 103 out of 131 of the handwritten pages.  Put into print form, that’s about 208 pages (formatted for paperback).  That’s just shy of 45K words.  Mind you, the NaNo goal is set for 50K and I still have another two weeks.  So, this is doable…right?

Well, yes, of course it is.  But it won’t be that easy.

My details on the third book are sketchy at best.  I know the opening scene (although I need to squeeze in a bit more research before I’m 100% comfortable with how it plays out) and I have a pretty good idea of how it ends.  But a lot of what occurs between those two points are fairly nebulous.

As a writer, this is both scary and exciting.  Some sick part of me enjoys producing under pressure and in some sense, that’s what NaNo is all about.  I don’t expect a perfect or even fully readable first draft, but I do hope to purge the remainder of this story out of my system.  And it’s always interesting to see what comes out when put pen to paper (or fingers to keyboard) and just let my mind go wild.

At the same time, I don’t wish to do this series any injustice.  I really enjoyed writing The Shadow Walker (still free for a limited time *end second shameless plug*) and I like where the sequel is headed.  Will it all be worth it in the end?  I suppose I’ll find out at the end of November, when I have the shell of my first draft completed.

That is assuming, of course, I finish this book in time to start on the next.  Oh, who am I kidding?  At this point, I’m going to start in on book three even if book two is still incomplete.  I’m not waiting until next year to start putting this trilogy to bed.

Oh, and if anyone’s wondering what the title of this post has to do with any of this, the short answer is: nothing.  I just thought it was funny.

As always, thanks for your support.

S.L. Madden

Leave a Reply

