And…We’re Off!


Today is the first day of November, or as I like to call it, Aggghhhh! It’s NaNoWriMo time!

What is NaNoWriMo, you might ask?  Well, if you missed my post about it last year and my grumblings about it leading up to the event, it’s a self-imposed contest for writers and wanna-be authors to produce an original book of 50K words in the span of a month.  Simple, right?

Actually, it’s not as tough as it sounds.  And I say that having failed miserably the past four years.  Basically, it boils down to writing 1667 words per day.  And keep in mind, the work produced is in no way shape or form expected to be quality.  It’s a purging of the mind of sorts, a way to dislodge an idea or concept for a story out into the world where it will have a chance to live or die.

This year, I’m working on World of Shadows, the final chapter in the Unseen Things Trilogy.  It’s a bit of a gamble, not only because it’s a book in an established series (the first book, The Shadow Walker, has been available since last year), but because I hadn’t finished writing the second book, The Shadow Within.  At least, that was true until Monday night.

Yes, Monday night I was able to type those two words that are arguably the most important ones an author can write: The End.  All in all, I feel happy with the direction it took and how it wrapped up.  I still have a lot of edits to do (including completely changing the location of one scene), but the story is, for all intents and purposes, done.

And that’s what I’m hoping to accomplish with this third book.  Over the past few days, I started mapping out the plot (having only really thought out the beginning and the end), and I quickly found I had seven chapters mapped out and a flood of new ideas.  It could be that when all is said and done on Dec. 1st, I’ll look back over what I’ve written and realize it didn’t work.  But even then, I imagine there will be elements I can salvage from it to carry forward to my new rough draft.

But that being said, I’m currently sitting at 3200 words for the day (just shy of twice my daily recommended wordage) and I’m pretty happy with how the opening scene is playing out.  It needs some polish, to be sure, but I feel really good about moving forward with it.

This is going to be my year to break the 50K barrier, I just know it.  And if all goes well, 2013 will be a huge year for me as a writer, as I have three books I’m currently juggling for release next year.

As always, thanks for the support.

S.L. Madden

7 thoughts on “And…We’re Off!

  1. Excellent news! I’m almost jealous of your word count (I’m sitting at about 1,400 at the moment). I did something foolish today. After reading this entry, and whilst waiting for dinner to be done, I checked out the first chapter of The Shadow Walker – I say foolish, because I can see myself obsessively reading the rest of it in the next few days, instead of writing… *grin*

    Glad to hear it won’t be long until book two and three are available to tempt me in the same fashion.

    Happy writing!

    • Don’t do that! It’s not worth it! I mean, yeah, sure, I’d love for you to read it (and hopefully enjoy it…now I’m nervously chewing on my nails wondering what you might think of it), but don’t do it! This is the moment to focus like a laser beam on your books. How else am I suppose to procrastinate working on my own books later? 🙂

      Now back to work! *cracks the whip–accidentally hits self in the eye*

    • I suppose that’s acceptable…only because I see you’re both kicking ass and taking names with your word count. Besides, all you have to do is stay in my blindspot and I wouldn’t even know. 🙂

      • Good point – hooray for blind spots, eh?

        I wanted to reassure you that the reason my word count was off yesterday had nothing to do with TSW. In fact, I finished it a few days ago, and I’m working on a review for Amazon. Here’s a preview of what I plan to say….

        “Wow!”

        Hope I didn’t reveal too much. Happy writing!

      • Traci,

        You rock, but “Wow!” can be taken so many ways…now I’m nervous. 🙂

        I hope you liked it and I really hope it didn’t distract you from unleashing your writing upon the world. I’m anxiously looking forward to reading your book (no pressure, eh?)

        Steve

  2. Okay, so I admit I was being a bit evil by choosing that particular word (plus, I haven’t been on Warcraft since NaNo started, so I might be jonesing a bit). No worries, the review will be very favorable. I started writing it earlier today, but got a bit distrac… hey, what’s that over there? Did someone just post something on Facebook? What was I saying? Hmmmm….

    *wanders off*

Leave a Reply

