NaNoWriMo v. NaBloPoMo…?


As you’re probably well aware, I’m trying my hand at NaNoWriMo once more this year (4146 words so far…didn’t get a chance to write during lunch, but still ahead of the curve).  I’m determined to not only break through the 50K mark by the end of the month, but to have a great skeleton of a book to which I can go back and add layers of fat and meat (mmm, I’m hungry).  This will be a challenge unto itself, but then my coworker and fellow blogger Angela, of Angela, Herself fame, told me about NaBloPoMo.

While the name makes me think of an insult one girl might say about another (“She is so NaBloPoMo…what does that fool see in her?”), it reminds Angela of the song Kokomo by the Beach Boys, it has nothing to do with either of these things.  Instead, it’s the blogging equivalent to NaNo.  The goal is to post a blog every day for a month.  At least, I think that’s what it’s about.  I tried to check the site out earlier and it kept crashing on me.  I did manage to make a login and–I believe–sign up to be a part of this grand event.

But Steve, you might say, to which I’d reply, “Why do you feel so comfortable casually addressing me by my first name?  I don’t know you.  But that’s okay, it’s all good.”  And when I was done, you might look at me funny and say, “Okay, freak, don’t you already have enough of your plate without adding this extra course?”  And I imagine my response would be, “Dammit, I’m still hungry.”

We’d go on and on like that for some time until you got sick of my antics.  Or until I left to eat dinner.  The point is, NaBloPoMo is a thing, and I’m going to try it out.  I mean, it’s not like I put any thought into my blog postings anyway, right?

Hello?  Is anyone still reading?

S.L. Madden

One thought on “NaNoWriMo v. NaBloPoMo…?

Leave a Reply

