Adventures In Babysitting


Today marks the day of my sister-in-law’s wedding.

Now I could go on and on about the joy I wish them or my own insecurities about what the sanctity of marriage means to society as a whole, but I have other, bigger things on my mind.

I’m going to be babysitting all day.

My wife–understandably–is involved in the wedding to the Nth degree.  With few exceptions, they’ve spent every week for the past several months pouring over floral arrangements, hair styles, sampling cakes, looking at make-up options, and other things I’m sure my man brain can’t even begin to process.  My wife actually engaged me in a conversation about make-up the other day, and all I could think was, Invasion of the body snatchers…you’re not my wife!  Who are you, really?

But now the time has come and however scared the bride and groom may be or the nervousness my wife surely feels, they have nothing on me.  It’s not like I haven’t watched Natalie before.  I babysit at least once a week, where we sit down and chill for a few hours while mama’s out.  But it’s been quite some time since I had to watch her by myself all day.  Already, I’m starting to panic about what to make her for lunch…for dinner.  What if she wants to go out?  Will I be able to keep up with her?

Deep down, I know I can do it.  I’ve done it before and to be honest, it’s nice to have a little bonding time where it’s just the two of us.  That being said, I woke up this morning with a bloody nose, which is surely as potent an omen as a red comet in the sky.  It could just be my allergies, the thin membrane in my nostrils giving me issues as they often do.  Or it could be a grim portend of things to come today.  As I looked down at the crimson-soaked toilet paper, I thought, There will be blood.  No, there’s already been blood.

It’s on.

Oh, due to the very nature of having to watch my daughter today, the likelihood I’ll be able to log in more words is slim to none.  So, I remain slightly ahead of the game at 16999.

S.L. Madden

Leave a Reply

