The Shadow Walker – A New Review


Courtesy of Traci York, I have a new review for The Shadow Walker:

Different, in a very good way

Disclosure – I received a free copy of this book as a “thank you” for assistance given years ago with the author’s earlier books.

First off – I absolutely loved the cover art for this book, before I realized the painting was done by the author’s five year old Autistic daughter, and modified by the author’s wife. Now I positively adore it.

After reading two of the author’s books in the Only Human on the Block series, I had a certain expectation of how the narrative would flow. I was greatly surprised to find the tone here is much, much darker. Once I told my expectations to hush, I settled in and thoroughly…no, not enjoyed (that, to me, implies an enjoyable journey with a happy ending), but was thoroughly engrossed in the story. There are plot twists aplenty – one I saw coming (regarding the character Bruce and I think the reader was meant to by that point), but the others were a surprise. They were all well crafted and were addressed (if not resolved) by the end (I have a pet peeve with plot holes). I look forward to reading the next two installments in this series.

Thank you, Traci, for the lovely review.

S.L. Madden

One thought on “The Shadow Walker – A New Review

  1. You are very welcome! I wish I had the talent to write one of those all encompassing reviews, but mine tend to be short (but hopefully sweet). Meant to reply to your other message about the Bruce thing, but I’ll do it here (without spoilers) – in thinking about the overall plot arc, I actually like the hat tip about Bruce when it occurred. I definitely got the sense we (the readers) were supposed to understand the nudge-nudge at that point, and it almost made me read faster, seeing how it would play out in the story. Again, can’t wait to read the sequels!

Leave a Reply

