Sleeping In


I’d love to be able to tell you I’m writing this so late in the evening because I spent all day writing, but it’d be an outright lie.  In fact, I didn’t get a single word written in my book today.  That puts my weekend total just north of 800 words, when I went into it knowing I had some catching up to do?

What happened?  Well, sleep, for one.  I had every intention of depriving myself of rest, but my sleep-craving mind conspired with my hand and I somehow hit snooze repeatedly.  In fact, I hit it so many times, I eventually woke up to my back-up alarm, which was set up to tell me when it’s time to stop writing (ha!) and time to wake up my daughter for school.

I hate, hate, HATE sleeping in, but sometimes, it’s a necessary evil.  I must  have really needed it, because when I eventually woke up, I had drooled all over my pillow and I was in no condition to bend words to my will.

I considered trying to get a few words in during the day, but we went shopping for Thanksgiving and by the time we got home, I was just grateful to have survived.  Fortunately, as I listened to music and did the dishes, new plot points started working their way out (all focused in the second part of the book, of course, which does me little good if I’m still mired in the events of part one).

So, once again, I may just find that putting off writing worked to my advantage.  True, I’m going to have to type like a bat out of hell with fingers and a penchant for keyboarding, but I know I’m good for it.  It’s not like there’s some huge holiday coming up that’s going to potentially take another entire day away from me….

S.L. Madden

Leave a Reply

