Bye Bye Red Box


It’s good to have a green box again.

I set my phone to go off around 5:30 this morning, even though I stayed up until just after midnight last night.  I was determined to get some writing in and I knew if I didn’t get a good early start, I might squander yet another day.

Around 4:30 or so, my dog woke me up, like a lumbering 110-pound alarm clock.  I through the living room and into the sun room, where I let him out through the sliding glass door.  The tile floor in the sun room was freezing, and by the time I took care of my business and opened the door for him once more, it was quarter till.

Two clear path were before me: go back to sleep and more than likely snooze through my alarm once more, or I could stay up and get to work.

The result of my choice was 3,768 words.

Okay, that’s not entirely true.  I also used my lunch time to write, so my green box can’t be entirely attributed to my early morning write fest.  It certainly helped get me back into gear, though.  Also, I made the executive decision to change it to first person, just to see how it felt.  Turns out, it felt just right.

So I say a not so fond farewell to the red box.  No, not the popular movie renting device (wish I’d been in on the ground floor of that investment).  I’m referring to the box from NaNo that tracks our progress.  Yellow is average, red is bad and green is good.  Maybe even great.  Today was a great day and I’m looking forward to many more (or eleven, at the time of this writing).

S.L. Madden

Leave a Reply

