Civil Twilight – Holy Weather


Product Details

This is my second recommendation of music that inspires me.  I’ve only recently started listening to Civil Twilight, after my wife heard Letters From The Sky at the end of a movie.  She checked out a few songs on YouTube and liked what she heard, so she recommended it to me.  After listening to a few songs, I knew right away this band was a good fit for my tastes (which is odd, because it usually takes several listens before a new disc calls to me, never mind a whole new band).  I put it off for a few weeks, then took the plunge, downloading their self-titled first album, Civil Twilight and their newer disc, Holy Weather, at the same time.  As a result, I often mix up which song came from which disc, as they both went onto my MP3 player in their entirety and have been mixing it up with my other favorite tunage.

Both albums are fantastic, but for the sake of this post, I’m going to focus on Holy Weather.  This is due in part to a time-sensitive sale: Amazon currently has it for $3.99 for their Black Friday sale.  I’m not sure when it’ll go back up to the $7.99 I paid, but this is a fantastic deal.  If you’ve never heard of the band, I recommend watching some of their videos.  They remind me in some ways of Coldplay, Keane or even Muse (many people say they sound like U2, but I don’t personally hear it).  Either way, they definitely have their own sound.

Every song is good, but stand-out tracks (for me) are: Fire Escape, River, Holy Weather, Highway Of Fallen Kings, Doorway and Shape Of A Sound.  The music sounds great coming out of my car speakers, but it really comes to life when wearing headphones.  I’m still discovering the various layers of sounds in each song.

S.L. Madden

Leave a Reply

