Doh!


If anyone’s actually keeping track, I failed to post yesterday.  Was it a lack of ideas (never stopped me before)?  Did I run out of time (too busy stuffing my face with…uh, stuffing)?  Was I abducted by a practitioner of the dark arts, in hopes to harness the power of my blood to rekindle his dying blood line (story of my life)?

Nope, nope and yeah, not even close.

The sad truth is, I forgot.

It hit me this morning as I was getting dressed for work.  Maybe it was the hot water in the shower or the thought of eating some delicious homemade butternut squash soup, but something knocked the thought out of the cluttered mess that is my mind.  And that thought, summed up in one word, was, “DOH!”

So, I failed at NaBloPoMo.  I’ll add it to my Big Board of Fails (which I keep meaning to get around to making, but, well, fail.)  To be quite honest, I’m not sure I was doing it right anyway.  There was a website I registered with, but I wasn’t sure if I was supposed to link there or upload my posts or what.  Anyway, I had a good run of 21 straight days of blogging, which is better than the person who told me about NaBloPoMo did (you know who you are).

I may not have met my quota for the month, but I did learn a lot.  Specifically, posting on my blog more than a few times a month is advantageous.  At the same time, I’m not nearly clever enough to hide the fact I have nothing to say at times.  I’ll take this knowledge with me moving forward, and I will no longer neglect my blog.

I’m still in the running to beat NaNoWriMo, however.  I managed to close a bit of the gap today, and even though I likely won’t get a chance to work on it tomorrow, I can see the path forward to reach my goal.  I’m not going to blow the 50K away like I originally intended, but I expect I’ll meet and beat it by the end of the month.

If not, well, there’s still plenty of room on my Big Board of Fails.

S.L. Madden

One thought on “Doh!

Leave a Reply

