2012 – A Year of Fail


I just saw an old post of mine stating I planned to have The Shadow Within and Together Alone (then called Friends For Sale) out by 10/31…2011.  Here it is, the end of 2012, and I still haven’t released either book, never mind the numerous other titles I had planned to release by this time.

Seeing myself so brazenly wrong about my ability to get those books out in a timely fashion made me think about my many failures in 2012 (in publishing, not real life…there’s not enough time to plumb those depths).  After all, New Years is a time for reflection and for looking forward.

Making the Draft – I said I hoped to have the rough draft done by the end of December.  That would be…today, and I’m still about 73% done.  Aside from taking a lot longer than I anticipated, the process is going well.  I don’t think there will be a ton of edits that need to be made before it goes public.  That being said….

Not the Write Stuff – The first version of Bravado/Dramatique I sent out evidentially had some typos in it.  After a few people pointed them out to me, I scrambled to get them fixed.  I haven’t had any further complaints, but I still hold my head in shame. After all…

One Book To Rule Them AllBravado/Dramatique was the only book I put out this year.  I know!  I’ve been busting ass and all I have to show for it is one measly book.  I mean, I have a great start on two others and a decent draft of one more, but 2012 was a bit on the pathetic side for TravEllerZero Productions to actually, you know…produce.

Three = Four – So, it looks like my Unseen Things Trilogy is now going to be four books.  I know this isn’t the first time this has happened to an author, but I still feel a little silly for putting the word “Trilogy” on the back of The Shadow Walker.  I’m toying with the idea of making book three World of Shadows part I and book four World of Shadows part II, but haven’t quite made my mind up.  The extra book also means there’s a likelihood the Unseen Things series won’t be resolved in 2013.  Grrr.

Sell Yourself – I’m sure a year from now when I look back, marketing will be on my fail list as well.  Despite years of working retail (or perhaps, because of it) I suck at selling myself.  If I read an author or play a game or listen to music that inspires me, I have no trouble preaching its virtues.  But when it comes to getting someone to read my book (never mind actually pay money for it)…blech.  It’s not that I don’t think the books are worth it.  I’ve spent years and putting a lot of myself into producing these little escapes into another world.  But asking someone to spend their hard-earned money and their time pouring through their pages is something I’m not sure I’ll ever get used to.  And yes, I realize that might very well be my undoing, but I won’t let it stop me.  The stories in my head need to come out and they will continue to do so, whether I make money at it or not.  It’s just a good thing I happen to enjoy my day job.

I’m sure I’ve made several other errors, mistakes and suffered moments of shame and fail, but they escape me now.  All I can say is, I hope I’m learning from it all.

And it wasn’t all an epic fail.  True, I only put out one new book this year, but I also made all four books available in print, which was no small undertaking.  Also, I beat NaNo for the first time, and even though the draft it produced is going to go through a major overhaul, it still gave me a starting point and got my creative juices flowing.  And now I know I shouldn’t try to do it without a proper editor and a marketing plan.

Slowly but surely, things are coming together for me.  I assume if you’ve read this far, you must have at least a passing interest in my books.  For that, I humbly thank you, as I can’t possibly convey how wonderful a feeling it is there are people out there enjoying what I’ve written.  After 20+ years, that knowledge is what gets me through the rough days, what pushes me to keep going, even when I feel like a break.

As always, thanks for your support.  I hope 2012 was good to you and may ’13 be our lucky numbers.

S.L. Madden

Leave a Reply

