The Heat


As of this writing, I’m 83% done with line editing The Shadow Within.  Yes, it’s taking far longer than it should, but I must admit, my focus has been wavering a bit the past few months.  But now I have a reason to focus on getting up to speed: one of my beta readers, Amber, just finished reading The Shadow Walker and is waiting for the next book in the series.  She already made some good recommendations on the first book and caught a few typos (Doh!), making me wish I’d employed her as a beta reader from the get-go.

I’m not accustomed to this type of pressure (usually, I set and break my deadlines as I see fit), so it’s actually quite nice.  I know if I apply myself, I can finish line editing it this weekend and begin the arduous process of editing on-screen.  In fact, I’m going to make it a goal to have the new draft in her hands by next weekend.

And yes, I’ll very likely miss that deadline as well.  Still, it is good to have goals.

Thanks for reading,

S.L. Madden

4 thoughts on “The Heat

  1. Steve….
    I should be done today or tomorrow with the first book…. Thought I should give you an update…

    Angela

    • Somehow I missed this comment, I think. Or I forgot about it. Seriously, my brain is not kind to me as of late (almost like I’ve got a lot on my plate or something. Hmm….)

      Did you get a chance to finish it? If so, are you interested in the second book? I just gave Amber the first thirteen chapters. If you want to wait until she’s done and mark up the same manuscript, hopefully it’ll be within a week or so. If not, I could print you off your own copy. Whatever’s easiest for you.

      Assuming, of course, you’re still interested and not completely disgusted in me as both a writer and a human being.

      Thanks!

      Steve

      • Steve:

        Sorry it’s taken a bit to get back to you, I kept meaning to go by dispatch and talk to you but things have been a little hectic and I just hadn’t had a lot of spare time this past week. So the fact that you had missed the comment is completely understandable (just don’t let it happen again, okay….)

        I did finish the book early this past week and it was so good. I really did not expect some of the things to happen that did and I enjoyed the ending. I really liked that the book could have been a stand alone book, or you could add on sequels (as you are). I hate when books leave you hanging for the next one, unless they are all already released, I have so little patience for waiting.

        As for edits on the first book, I wasn’t really purposefully looking for them on the first one, but I did notice that on page 100 (Chapter 8), there is a sentence that states “I engage in the conversation, opting instead to focus on eating.” Was this suppose to say I disengaged from the conversation? I wasn’t sure, but other than that I didn’t notice anything glaring. I really enjoyed the first book, not disgusted n you as a writer or human being at all.

        As for the second manuscript, if you would prefer to work off of just one draft manuscript, I can wait until Amber is finished looking at it, so all the mark ups will be on the same one, or if you would prefer you can print off a new one. Either way would work out for me, I am impaitient, but I will be able to wait a week or so if that would be the easier route for you.

        Thanks again for the opportunity to read the book and help with the first one. I appreciate it and am looking forward to reading the second manuscript once Amber is finished with it, or if you print a new one whenever the printer is finished with it.

  2. I didn’t dare miss this comment. 🙂 Thanks again so much for reading the first book. I’m glad you enjoyed it. I know it’s not the happiest story in the world, but I did enjoy writing it. I’ve got what Amber’s read so far of the second book at my desk, so feel free to stop by whenever you like. I don’t have a binder for it, but I’ll try to remember to bring one with me tomorrow. She’s read up to page 53 (manuscript pages), so it’s a sizable chunk.

    Also, please feel free to write all over it. Any mistakes you find…excellent! Questions you have? Perfect! Suggestions? Yes, please! Praise/complaints? Bring ’em on!

    You have my gratitude.

    Steve

Leave a Reply

