What’s Now, What’s Next


For those of you who are anxiously chomping at the bit for any news concerning The Shadow Within (you know who you are), this is your lucky day!  No, the book isn’t ready yet.  Not even close, to be honest.  As of today, I am 65% done with editing it.  While I’m knee-deep in the editing process, I have a beta reader (Hi, Amber!) or possibly two (Heya, Angela!) reading through the manuscript to give me any ideas on how to make it better and to generally judge me accordingly.  Then, after taking in their feedback and doing a final supreme edit (now with sour cream!), I’m going to ship it off to be professionally edited (What’s up, Katy!).  Somehow in the middle of all this, I have to finalize a cover and figure out how to get the mobi creator to work on my new computer (every time I’ve run a test, it’s come back with errors).

Then, and only then, will the book be ready to go.  I’m still hoping for a June release date, though I’m remaining flexible.  I don’t want to put it out until it’s ready to go.

In the meantime, we just finished going through Together Alone (the third Only Human on the Block) in group last Thursday.  Everyone was kind enough to stay until rather late (for us) to finish it up, and I’m glad we did.  Of course, I heard a ton of things I need to tweak and change, but it was nice seeing their reactions to the ending and some twists and turns I’ve been looking forward to presenting.  When I first came up with the idea for this series, I instantly had a rough map of all five books (and the spin-off series afterward (ssh, that’s a secret)).  Knowing where the series was going helped me sprinkle little secrets throughout, and a number of them come to a head in this book.  There will be answers to questions you didn’t even know you had, haha!  At the same time, there’s still lots more to come in books four and five.

Speaking of which, I still have yet to find that fourth book.  It’s been missing since I moved a year ago.  I know it’s gotta be there somewhere, because I don’t much relish the thought of rewriting the whole thing.  When I stopped working on it four years ago (!), it was already the biggest book in the series.  I’m hoping it magically appears or else I’ve got to do some serious memory jogging.

So after I finally get The Shadow Within published, I’m going to go through the same process with Together Alone.  I’m determined to get both books put out this year, especially as they were both written and done, for the most part, last year.  Trouble is, now I don’t have anything to bring to group on a weekly basis.  So while I work on my edits for both books, I also need to produce new material.  I have the rough draft I produced for World of Shadows Book I last year for NaNo, but I have a lot to add and change to make it worthy.  On the other hand, it might be easier than completely starting over with a new book from scratch.

Unless, of course, I find that fourth book.

Hmm, it might be time to start tearing through some boxes.

As always, thanks for reading.

 

S.L. Madden

Leave a Reply

