The Maddening 6/29/13


Just a quick update so you all don’t think I fell off the face of the Earth.

The Shadow Within – I received my edited copy from Katy last week.  Not only was she extremely fast (had it back to me the day after she started), she was also very thorough.  I even managed to learn a few things courtesy of the handy-dandy notes she left.  I never realized I had such an unhealthy obsession with “get” and “got”.  Huh.

As of now, I’m roughly 20% through implementing the changes.  There’s a little part of me that wants to add in another scene, just to flesh out some of the ancillary characters a bit.  At the same time, I really don’t want to pad the story out.  One thing I like about this series is the pacing.  With them being first person, there’s no pinging between perspectives, no wait to get back to focusing on a preferred character.  Hopefully the reader feels the same sense of urgency I felt when writing it, and I’d hate to undermine that by adding in unnecessary scenes.

At this rate (assuming I resist the urge to add new material), I feel confident in my ability to get it out by the end of July.  I was originally shooting for June, but honestly, this is the closest I’ve ever come to making a deadline.  There’s still work that needs to be done for the cover and some formatting issues I need to address, but nothing terribly serious.  Watch this space for more news!

Together Alone – I am still line editing the third book in the Only Human on the Block series.  With most of my focus going toward The Shadow Within, this book has been getting the short end of the stick.  That should change after next month, however, and I’m almost positive I can have it out by the end of the year.  I’m definitely going to employ Katy’s services again, as it’s an undeniable value.

World of Shadows Book I – I’m still trying to decide whether I want to split up the third Unseen Things book into a book one and a book two, or to make them two completely titles, and drop the trilogy aspect of it.  Either way, I believe both parts are going to be big enough to justify becoming their own book.  Right now, the third book is about 52K words, but as I go through the rough draft, I’m finding a lot of scenes I want to expand and build upon.  Also, I never liked the way I ended it, so I have something a bit more grand in mind.  With all of those changes in place, I think it will be at least as big as the previous two books, if not a little bigger (each was roughly 70K).  I’m shooting to have the full rough draft done in time to start the fourth (and final, I (for now) swear!) book for NaNo.  If all goes well, the series should be completely wrapped up next year.  Then I can focus on winding down the Only Human on the Block series and starting some new IP.

Book Trailer – I know I’ve talked about doing a book trailer in the past, but I really didn’t have any concrete plans.  I still don’t, but I’m one step closer to achieving that goal.  My search for some suitable (and usable) music led me to start listening to some tunes my old band had made to support my mother’s audiobook business.  With it no longer operating and the songs having never been used, I’ve been given permission to utilize them how I can.  Now I just need to give them a listen and determine if they’re as good as I once thought they were.

So, that’s basically been my world in a nutshell.  Writing one book, editing two others.  I know it’s been about a year since my last book was published, but in the span of two years, I’ve released four books I’ve extremely proud of.  Two years from now, I fully expect to have another four or five books out.

 

Thanks for reading,

 

S.L. Madden

One thought on “The Maddening 6/29/13

Leave a Reply

