The Maddening 7/20/2013


I know I’ve been rather horrible in updating this blog, but hopefully my excuses will placate the (I wish) angry masses.

The Shadow Within – The sequel to The Shadow Walker is done!  I’ve gone over the changes suggested by Katy (all of which I agreed with) and it’s ready to go… except I’m still struggling with the formatting.  And, to a lesser extent, the cover.  Hopefully by the end of next week I’ll be able to do a cover reveal, but this formatting is kicking my ass.  I always forget what a pain it is.  Regardless, I intend to have this book out by the end of the month.  More info to come.

Together Alone – I’m a little over 50% done with line editing the next book in the Only Human on the Block series.  This is a big one for me, the culmination of a lot of ideas I had running through my head when I was first forming the basis for the series.  Needless to say, I’m quite excited to get it into your hands.  Not to mention I never got around to finishing the fourth book, The Blood Contract, so it’ll be a little cathartic for me to finally be able to write The End.  My best prediction at this point is it’ll be out by the end of the year, and I promise I’ll push hard to complete it in that timeframe.

World of Shadows Book I – I know The Shadow Within isn’t quite out yet, but I’m still hard at work on the follow-up.  I’ve got the manuscript up to 60K words, 10K more than I had when I finished it for NaNo last year.  There are still several sequences I hope to add, so I’m confident it’ll be as big or bigger than its predecessors.  My hope is to finish up the rough draft before November so I can work on the follow-up for NaNo this year.

Ascension TrailerAscension may have been the first book I put out, but it’s also proven to be my most popular (judging solely by sales).  I’ve had the concept of a trailer for it pinging around in my wee little noggin for a while, but never did anything with it.  The other morning, I hobbled together a quick experimental trailer that actually turned out to be pretty good.  I shopped it around to friends and family, and aside from a few suggestions I hope to implement, it was very well received.  I’ve got all the resources I need to make it work.  All I need is the time.  Watch this space for more information.

Misc. – I started working on a new, secret project.  The ideas are still in the formative stage, but they’re coming fairly fast.  Essentially, it’s a set of short stories that can be read in any order and independently of one another, but they tell a more complete story when read all together.  At least, that’s the plan, if I can pull it off.  As of now, I have rough ideas for five stories, but more and more are popping into my head.

“So, Steve,” you might say, “what genre is this new project?”  Well, that’s the secret part.  I can give you a hint, though: it rhymes with “neurotica”.  Yup.

Amongst all this good stuff is the bad and the sad.  The divorce is in high gear and I’m knee-deep in trying to figure out living arrangements.  It’s been a rough road, but I feel like we’re getting closer to a resolution.  Hopefully after I decompress a bit, I’ll be able to focus even more on my writing.

As always, thanks for reading.

 

S.L. Madden

ASCfyogaBDsw

3 thoughts on “The Maddening 7/20/2013

Leave a Reply

