A Day of Plenty


It feels good to get something accomplished.

I woke up early this morning, and instead of going back to sleep like my brain/body demanded, I dragged myself out of bed.  Since Natalie discovered she can watch her videos on the computer and have total control over them, she no longer wants to watch anything on the TV.  Score one for me getting to watch my shows, but it makes it hard to get stuff done when she’s hogging the computer.  So it was, I crept into the living room like a zombified ninja, determined to get something done while she slept.  What I accomplished was more than I expected.

First off, the formatting for The Shadow Within is done.  Paperback, done. Electronic versions, done.  I still have to upload them and back sure there are no last-minute glitches, but for all intents and purposes, the book is ready to go.  I’m still going back and forth on the back blurb and the cover isn’t quite done, but both are nearly done.  At this point, I think a book launch at the end of the month isn’t out of the question, which is good, since I am celebrating my two-year anniversary of self-publishing this month.

Second, I started doing a character sheet for that secret new series I alluded to in my last post.  I have a bunch of characters and scenarios bouncing around in my noggin, so I thought I should start writing them down.

Having finished that, I still had some time, so I decided to goof around with the Ascension trailer I mentioned before.  I tried messing with it earlier, and realized I’d saved the entire project in such a way I couldn’t alter it.  So I took the opportunity of starting from scratch to make some changes I thought would improve it and, before I knew it, I was done.  I’m going to preview it again when I get home after writer’s group tonight, and perhaps show it off to a few people to get their feedback, but I think it actually turned out quite nicely.  If it’s met with a positive response, it should be up within the week.  I’ll post more information on it as it becomes available.

Okay, so maybe that doesn’t seem like a lot, but in one morning I was able to bypass several hurdles that have been in my way for weeks.  Soon, I’ll have my fifth book in two years published, and I’ll be able to debut my first book trailer.  These are exciting times.

And all it cost me was some precious sleep.

Thanks for reading,

S.L. Madden

One thought on “A Day of Plenty

Leave a Reply

