Progress Report 9-15


Just a quick update to 1) let you know I survived being alone in this house, and 2) establish what’s happening in the world of S.L. Madden.

World of Shadows Book One: Progress has been slow but steady on this one. I technically finished the rough draft for NaNo last year, but I knew it was merely the framework for where I wanted the story to go. I’ve been working in more fully fleshing out existing chapters, and adding new ones where needed. I’m sitting at about 65K words in its present form, but I still have a handful of new chapters to write and I’m going to completely rework the ending. I expect it to be around 90K when it’s all finished.

I would be further along, but I’ve been focusing most of my energy on Together Alone. I’m about 60% through line editing it, after which, it’ll go to my beta readers. Once they’re through tearing it apart, I’ll make the changes and get it off to my editor (I’m shooting for the first week of December). If all goes well, I’m expecting to have it out my Christmas (hopefully a bit before).

I’d have it sooner, but November is NaNo month. I have a lot of balls in the air right now, but I’m not going to miss another year. Last year was the first time I finished, and it was exhilarating. I’m not 100% sure what I’m going to work on this time, but I’m leaning toward a story about dealing with raising my autistic daughter while going through a divorce. Good times, no?

Also, because… Why not?.. I started typing up the fourth Only Human on the Block book. I only finished the first chapter, but it got me jazzed to work on the series again. I started writing The Blood Contract five years ago (almost to the day!), but I never finished it. I know how it ends, and how the fifth and final book if the series plays out, but I got so caught-upon other books, then publishing, I never went back and finished them.

Looks like 2014 will be the year for drawing some series to a close, while starting new projects. I hope I can keep you all entertained along the way.

Thanks for reading,

S.L. Madden

(By the way, this was typed on my phone, so please excuse any insane autocorrecty mistakes I may have overlooked).

Leave a Reply

