Of Things To Come


I know I’ve been rather absent on here of late, but I have a good reason: I’m saving it all up!

As my long-time readers may well remember, NaNoWriMo starts tomorrow. For those of you unfamiliar, that stands for National Novel Writing Month. It’s a contest to push yourself to produce a minimum of 50,000 words by the end of the month, in a story you’ve never written before. Last year, I worked on the third Unseen Things book (World of Shadows Book I: Proliferation), which I am still editing/adding content to to this day.

In addition to NaNo, I’m also planning to undertake NaBloPoMo, or National Blog Posting Month. The goal there is to post something on your blog every day for the month of November. I tried it last year, and though I failed (just slipped my mind one day), it proved invaluable to drive some new traffic to my blog, and put me in contact with other bloggers I wouldn’t have otherwise met.

Because all that doesn’t sound like enough, I’m still hoping to get my next book, Together Alone (Only Human on the Block III) out in December. This may be pure optimism on my part, since I’ve just barely finished my edits on it. I still have to send it off to be edited, implement those changes, pick a cover (my girlfriend knows an artist I’m dying to work with, but I’m not sure if budget/time constraints with allow it at this time), and work on formatting. Hopefully the formatting aspect won’t be a big deal, as I’ve tried to learn from my struggles formatting The Shadow Within.

While my current projects will be put on hold for the month, I feel good about my progress with them. Although I’d hoped to have World of Shadows I out closer to the release of the second book, I’m glad I’ve taken the extra time to flesh it out a bit. It’s currently sitting at about 60K words, and I still have three or four chapters to write/change, including the ending. And even though I haven’t released the third Only Human on the Block yet, I have about 16K words typed up for the rough draft of the sequel, The Blood Contract.

So I’ve definitely got a lot going on, and The next few months won’t be boring for me, especially November. Now I just need to decide what book I’m going to work on starting tomorrow….

Happy Halloween, everyone!

S.L. Madden

(This post was written on my phone while a cat slept on my face, so please forgive any spelling transgressions).

Leave a Reply

