Let It Begin! Let It Begin!


As stated in my last post, today marks the start of NaNoWriMo, an attempt to produce a 50,000 word (at least) story by the end of November.  I went back and forth on which book I wanted to write, and I finally settled on 7 Days (working title), a recount of the week I spent with my autistic daughter, Natalie, while my then soon-to-be ex-wife Norma went up to baby-proof the home they were moving to, across the state.  It was a particularly difficult period of my life, as I was trying to adjust to the concept of living without my daughter on a day-to-day basis, while struggling with trying to take care of her by myself for such a long period of time, something no one else had ever attempted.  That being said, despite it being about divorce and feeling alone, I find a lot of humor in the events surrounding my life, and I hope others can as well.

I had several other stories I was interested in doing (in fact, I thought about writing the first chapter or two of several books, but I read the rules and saw that wasn’t acceptable).  My fear in writing this particular story was that I would get too bogged down in bitter feelings and negativity, or that I wouldn’t be successful at writing about my own life, but I figured what’s the harm?  Even if this story doesn’t pan out and it’s one I want to keep to myself, I’m only losing a month.  And perhaps writing it will prove to be cathartic, as the divorce has only been final for a few weeks.

Either way, at this point, I’m all in.  I don’t want to lose a day of writing by restarting, so I’m going to forget ahead with what I have.

By the way, in order to achieve my goal of 50,000 words, I have to write 1667 words per day.  Today, I clocked in 1709.  Just barely squeaked by!

Thanks for reading,

S.L. Madden

Leave a Reply

