Below Average


Today was a mixed day. On the plus side, my girlfriend finally met my mother, over what proved to be a rather good lunch.

On the not so good side, I bowled well below my average tonight. I play on a league through work, and even though I know I’m never really that good, I’ve done except unkindly poor the past few times. Tonight, I actually started out rather strong, but five frames into the first game, my bad hip started acting up. I went into frame five with a 55 (I know that’s not great), and ended the game with an 86 (really not great).

I did a little better as the night went on, thanks to some pain pills supplied by a fellow co-worker and teammate, but it was still a bad night for me.

And on top of it all, I got no writing done. Nothing. Nada. Zip. Zilch. The big goose egg. In fact, I almost didn’t get this post out. It’d be pretty shameful if I failed on the third day. Clearly, I’ve gotta step up my game, in every sense.

S.L. Madden

4 thoughts on “Below Average

  1. According to my math, all you need to do (besides write, of course) is to change your word count goal to 1,748 per day for the rest of the month. That’s only an extra 82 words per day. You can sooooo do that!

Leave a Reply

