Falling Behind


I figured I’d get my blog posting for the day done early, because I’m going on a little road trip later, and I know I’m likely to forget.

Here it is, day four, and I’ve been doing a horrible job keeping my pace.  At this point, I’ve written an average of 864 words per day, well short of the 1667 necessary to complete on time.  Of course, the month is still early, and I should have plenty of opportunities to catch up.  In fact, according the stat meter on nanowrimo.org, I need only write 1724 words per day to finish.

Of course, that doesn’t take into account the days I have Natalie (every other weekend).  Or the fact I’m going to be gone for a few days in Portland (going to see Nine Inch Nails!).  Or the fact I buggered up my hip so bad at bowling last night, it hurts to sit.

But no, those are excuses, and I won’t let them waylay me.  I’m going to cross the finishing line again this year, and I’m going to uphold my commitment to posting once a day all month.  If I can’t dedicate this time to my craft, how can I expect others to commit to reading what I produce?

S.L. Madden

Leave a comment