Dirk In My Eye!


Okay, perhaps it’s not a dirk (cue goofy sounding bird noise), but there’s definitely something going on with my eye.  I woke up yesterday, and it hurt to close my lid, and didn’t feel great opening it.  The eye wasn’t pink or bloodshot, so most of my best guesses what it could be went out the window.  Stumped, I consorted with a higher power.

According to Jenn, I have a stye (which sounds like it should be a country song…  There’s a stye… in my eye…).  From what I’ve read, it sounds like it’s like a pimple on my eyelid.  Great.  A co-worker had one a few weeks back, and it looked rather like someone had punched her (or she fell down the stairs… I don’t judge).  When I asked her about it, she said it looked 100 times better than it had the past few days.  I distinctly recall thinking, “I hope that never happens to me.”

Haha, Universe… good one.  You got me again.

Right now, the whole this has been manageable.  It’s a bit sore, but not terribly bad.  I’ve made it a point to not rub the eye, though that has greatly taken away from my patented “I can’t believe I’m dealing with this shit” look.  It just had to be right in the corner of the eye, so close to my temple.

I’ve been applying warm facecloths to it when I can, but it’s kind of hard to do that and accomplish much else, considering I’m virtually blind without my glasses on.  I knew I should have rested when I got home last night, but I chose to write instead.  Sadly, today has been far less productive (translate = 0 words at this time).  I’m pretty sure I’ve done dropped out of the race at this point, especially if the eye gets worse, but I’m going to power on anyway.  Even if I fall short of the 50K goal, I’ll still be able to finish a vast majority of the rough draft.

Also, in case you’re wondering about the title of this post, it comes from the upcoming Dreams Everlastin’, the final book in my mother’s Everlastin’ series.  We read the last chapter in group, and I believe you long-time fans (and you newbies to the series), have a lot to look forward to.

Thanks for reading!

S.L. Madden

Leave a Reply

