First Signs of Life


I just realized I have been procrastinating writing a post since… well, last year!  I had no idea it had been that long.  Maybe a week or two.  So for those of you who look forward to reading my blog as a means in which to give your life purpose, I hope my absence hasn’t resulted in you doing anything rash.  And, in the unfortunate event it did, I hope you left reviews first.

I don’t really have a good excuse for being gone for so long, other than I let time slip through my fingers.  I have been keeping up with the writing.  I’m nearly at the half-way mark for The Blood Contract, book four of the Only Human on the Block series.  I’m at 53K words, so this is shaping up to be the biggest of the series yet, although I doubt it will reach the page count of Ascension, my longest book yet.  I’m shooting for a June release, but keep in mind that’s far from a firm date.  At this point, I can’t see it being any earlier than that, and June was the date I gave my cover artist.  Yes, that’s right… For the first time, I’m hiring someone to create my cover for me.  I picked a scene out of the upcoming book that I think will work, and he said he’s going to get started jotting down ideas.  I’m quite excited to see what he’ll come up with.

For those of you who are all about the Unseen Things series, I offer my apologies the third book, World of Shadows Part I, isn’t out yet.  I originally planned to release it shortly after The Shadow Within, and I even wrote the bulk of the rough draft for NaNoWriMo 2012, but I’ve been stalled on it since last Fall.  There are a few key scenes I know I needed to insert, but I haven’t quite wrapped my brain around the mechanics of them yet.  While I mentally worked on it, I started hammering out the rough draft for The Blood Contract, which was easier because I was only a few chapters shy of finishing the rough draft when I stopped writing it some six years ago.  What was supposed to tide me over until I returned to World of Shadows pretty much took over.  Coming off of publishing Together Alone at the end of last year, I was all too happy to stay in that world.  In the meantime, however, I’ve been distancing myself a bit from the events of the Unseen Things series.  I know what I need to do, I just have to get in there and do it.

Despite my procrastination, I’m confident I’ll have World of Shadows Part I out before the end of the year.  That would mean I released three titles in 2011 (Ascension, The Four-Year-Old Guardian, and The Shadow Walker), one in 2012 (my lazy year) (Bravado/Dramatique), two in 2013 (The Shadow Within and Together Alone), and now two this year (The Blood Contract and World of Shadows Part I: Proliferation).  And if all goes well, I’ll have the final books of both series (tentatively titled Afterlife and World of Shadows Part II: Invasion, respectively) ready for release next year.

Not too shabby for a guy who can barely manage to write one blog post a month.

Thanks for reading,

S.L. Madden

ASCFYOG cover kindleBDTogether Alone ImageswShadow Within Cover

Leave a Reply

