Day Four: Temptation


173.2 lbs

Hopefully no one thought my lack of a day three meant I was passed out from food deprivation. In truth, I’ve been able to maintain the feeling of being full more easily than I typically do. Perhaps it’s because I’m not counting calories and carefully rationing out my meals. Instead, I eat my fill whenever hunger strikes.

What I have found strange is how quickly hunger pangs set in. I’ll go from feeling sated to ravenous in a relatively quick period of time. That being said, I don’t have a hard time becoming full again.

I’ve also been surprised at what’s been my greatest temptation so far. It’s not the bacon and ham enhanced hamburger my co-worker heated up, filling our small work environment with its tantalizing smells. It’s also not the pineapple upside down cake a different co-worker brought in.

No, my biggest temptation so far has been a bag of Spicy Nacho Doritos.

I swear I could smell them from across the room, begging me to eat just one (and knowing I wouldn’t be able to stop there). It didn’t help that my co-workers crunched on them throughout the day, assaulting my aural senses even when I was able to disengage my olfactory ones.

The crazy thing is, I rarely eat Doritos. I mean, I have nothing against them flavor-wise (and in that regard, Spicy Nacho was one of my favorites), but it wasn’t a snack I reached for all that often.

The mind is a curious thing. Especially when we deny it something we’ve been taught to crave.

Thanks for reading,

S.L. Madden

Leave a Reply

