Catching Up


Hello, old friends. Old as in we’ve been friends for a while. I’m not making any kind of commentary about your ages. After all, none of us have ever been this old before. Nor shall we ever be this young again.

I know it’s been a long time since I last posted anything here, so it would stand to reason I might have some grand announcement to make, such as I finished AfterLife and The Shadow Without and they will both be available soon!

Well….

I haven’t been quite as productive as I would have liked. After going back and forth between which of my next two books to focus on, I ultimately decided on The Shadow Without (The Shadow Within came out nearly two years ago, whereas The Blood Contract came out just last November). I sent the first 12 chapters to a dedicated reader who I trust to go over (hi, Mom!) and I’ve nearly powered through the chapters I’ve been meaning to add since finishing the rough draft for NaNo in 2013. After this, I just have to rewrite the end and tweak the remaining chapters. It won’t be terribly soon but I remain optimistic it will be out before the end of the year.

I haven’t touched AfterLife since I decided to focus on The Shadow Without. Fortunately, I had a pretty good run on it before I decided to switch gears. If I had to guess, I’d say the rough draft is maybe 20-25% done. Though it’s unlikely I’ll finish it this year, I’m going to give it my all after The Shadow Without is published (and once I’m done with my NaNo book). So if I can’t get it out by the end of the year, 2016 is pretty much a guarantee.

Of course, I haven’t been totally screwing around these last few months. I recently went through and helped to edit one of my mom’s upcoming books (that would be Swagon Drorn by Mickee Madden). I’ve also been kind of sort of working on a bit of a concept album (still very much in the rudimentary stages). I’m also about halfway through a short erotica story I intend to expand into a series. Plus life and junk.

To sum it up: I’m still alive, I’m still working and I’m still as slow as ever. As they say, good things come to those who wait. And I do know I’ve left you all waiting.

Thanks for reading,

S.L. Madden

Leave a Reply

