Stolen Kisses


I know, I ignored my blog for a few months and now I’m blowing it the eff up!

This is another link to a song called Stolen Kisses I posted on Sound Cloud about a month ago. Ever since my divorce in 2013, I’ve been struggling with the fact my daughter now lives across the state. Given her limited vocabulary due to her autism and the distance, I rarely get to see or speak with her. In hopes to deal with my sadness/guilt/what-have-you, I decided to channel my energies into writing songs after Skyping with her. This particular song came gushing out. From the moment I played the first chord on the guitar, wrote and sang the vocals, added the keyboard and the solo, to the rough song you hear here, it took me a little over an hour. I sent what I had to my band mate, Dave, and he added the bass. The song is far from complete but given everything, I’m very pleased with how it turned out.

Thanks for listening,

S.L. Madden

Stolen Kisses

Images upon a screen

Can’t replace what you mean to me

Even video is not the same no, no

Your excitement makes it clear

You love me though I can’t be there

I can read between your lines oh, oh

Those kisses should be mine

Drives me out of my mind

I sacrificed it all and more

In an effort to ensure

You could have a good life

To hear your voice and your laugh

Should be enough but I can’t get past

The memories of what came before

Those kisses should be mine

Drives me out of my mind

And I keep telling myself

Someday this will end

But it drags me down, down, down

Seeing the love meant for me

Go to my enemy

Drags me down, down, down

Space may divide us

But the love inside of us

Can never be undone

Those kisses should be mine

Drives me out of my mind

I hope you’re happy

Like you seem to be

I hope you’re happy

Like you deserve to be

I’ll wait and bide my time

Those kisses should be mine

I’ll wait and bide my time

Those kisses should be mine

Leave a Reply

