No Apologies


I debated what to post today. It’s an internal monologue I’ve struggled with for the past several…months? I honestly have no idea when my last post was.

The truth of the matter is, I haven’t had a lot to report recently. The old adage of “if you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all” could apply here. It’s not that I have particularly bad news. I haven’t given up writing. My health is generally good. I still have a full head of hair. I just haven’t made much progress these past few months.

I could give you a list of excu–err, reasons why that’s the case. But honestly I feel like that’s all this blog has turned into: a published account of my failures to hit my deadlines and the subsequent apologies.

So instead of apologizing (which being sorry is built into my DNA), I’m instead going to list the positives:

I have made progress on The Shadow Without. I’m still not quite where I want to be but after a few years of spinning my wheels on this book, I’m finally getting some forward momentum. I’m determined to have the rough draft finished by the end of October, leaving me free to work on my NaNo book.

Which leads me to my second positive: NaNo! I have my potential projects narrowed down to three choices that have been begging for release. I’m still not sure which one will get the final honors but I’m determined it will not be a book that belongs to an existing series. As anxious as I am to wrap up Only Human on the Block and Unseen Things, I desperately want to work on something new. NaNo is the perfect forum for that, a month where I can throw myself into the unknown.

So that’s it. Not a lot of positives not progres, but it’s something. As I approach the final quarter of the year, I’m coming to realize 2015 will be less a time of production and more a period to set myself up for success in 2016.

Thanks for your patience (and for reading!),

S.L. Madden 

One thought on “No Apologies

  1. Hey two positives are nothing to sneeze at! Unless you have hay fever, of course… *grin*

    Happy to hear there’s progress, and I’ll be cheering you on during NaNo. I have mixed feelings about doing it this year – I have so many rough drafts, but nothing published, However, I’ll most likely participate – I can’t imagine November without it.

    Hurray for positive news!

Leave a Reply

