Not Fade Away


Reading back to my last blog entry, I was quite gung ho to finish my NaNo book. That was, of course, in November. Somehow, I closed my eyes and when I opened them again, it February.

Now I could blame the bad weather (tons of snow this year in my neck of the woods), unfavorable election results (with no good choices on the ballot, it was easy to be disappointed in the victor), my cats attempt to block me from using the computer, situational depression, or any of the other (valid or not) excuses I’ve come up with, but the plain simple truth is I just haven’t been writing. The breather I gave myself has now lasted two years, with very little accomplished in the interim.

This really slammed home this morning. Determined to get back on track, I sat down and finished the chapter in AfterLife I’ve been stuck on for some time. Doing so, I passed the 50K word count and I threw a mini celebration (read: I said, “Woo hoo!” to myself). I logged on, excited to finally have some forward momentum to blog about. Scrolling through my old blogs, I found one from February 2015 saying I had just crossed the 30K word threshold. I had to read it a few times to make sure I had it right. Have I really only written 20K words or so in the past two years in this book? At this rate, I’ll be retired before it’s done. Then I won’t have any excuse not to finish it.

I know I’ve done this song and dance before. The majority of my blog posts these day (infrequent as they are) are me apologizing for taking so long, while promising to do better. So I’m not going to do that. Instead, I’m going to do my best to be better, both in keeping up with this blog and in writing. No one is more excited than I am to finish this book and have the complete series available for the first time.

Thanks for reading (and for your patience),

 

S.L. Madden

Leave a Reply

